Gossip Girl: Season 1

Gossip Girl: Season 1

Sep. 19, 2007
Your rating: 10
8.9 8 votes

The first season of Gossip Girl, an American teen drama based upon the book series by Cecily von Ziegesar. Developed for television by Josh Schwartz and Stephanie Savage. Airing on The CW from September 19, 2007 till May 19, 2008 with 18 episodes. It tells the story of Serena van der Woodsen’s return to Manhattan’s Upper East Side in New York City following her mysterious disappearance to boarding school in Connecticut, while being watched by gossip website Gossip Girl.

The first thirteen episodes of Gossip Girl aired in the U.S. on Wednesdays at 9:00 p.m. on The CW, a terrestrial television network. With the exception of the twelfth episode “School Lies,” the first thirteen episodes aired on CTV Television Network one day prior to their US airdate. Following the 100 day writers strike, the remainder of the season aired on Mondays at 8:00 p.m. The season was released on DVD as a five disc boxed set under the title of Gossip Girl: The Complete First Season on August 19, 2008 by Warner Home Video. The pilot episode was made available as a free download registered users of the U.S. iTunes Store prior to its premiere on television. Following episodes became available to purchase following their original airing.